Lemon Scalloppine

For those who do not know Scalloppine actually refers to a thin cut of chicken, that is floured, sauteed and served with either a Piccata, Wine or tomato based sauce. (I had to look it up myself)

I seem to have a long standing love with anything lemon. So it should not be a surprise to anyone that I immediately fell in love with this recipe.

What you’ll need:

4 thinly cut, boneless, skinless chicken breasts (you can buy normal chicken breasts and pound them thin. )

1 Lemon

1 1/2 cup of white wine

1 1/2 cup of chicken stock

2 cloves of garlic

1 shallot

1 bunch of parsley

1 cup all purpose flour

For the Misenplace:

Thinly slice the lemon, and set it aside.

Mince the garlic and shallot

Wash, clean and mince the parsley

For the recipe:

In a Saute pan, heat 1 Tablespoon of olive oil. When the oil is hot, add the garlic and shallots.

Once the onions and garlic become fragrant, add 1 1/2 of vermouth and the slices of lemon. Turn up the heat and reduce the liquid by half.

When the liquid has been reduced ( cook no longer than 5 minutes) add the 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth and again reduce the liquid by half.  Be careful with this, I decided to cook my longer and I ended up with a very, very bitter sauce. (see notes)

Once the liquid has reduced, add in about 1 tablespoon of cold butter and allow it to melt from the residual heat of the sauce. It will make the sauce creamy, and help bring it together.

For some odd reason, I didn’t take any pictures of the chicken. Sorry in advance.

Mix together the all purpose flour, kosher salt and cracked black pepper. Dredge the chicken into the flour, coating both sides and shaking off any excess flour. Please try to get as much of the flour off the chicken as possible. I just patted the chicken from hand to hand.

Saute the chicken in olive oil, it shouldn’t take any longer than 5 minutes per side.

Now, serve the chicken with the pasta of your choice and pour the sauce over everything, Top with chopped parsley.

Sarap!

Just some notes for you (or me) :

The sauce was bitter, Now, I didn’t follow my own rules, because I was trying to get nicer looking lemon slices and I cooked the sauce way too long. Also, I was always told that the white parts of the lemon are extremely bitter, so why subject ourselves to it?

Next time, I think I’m going to use freshly squeezed lemon juice, and freshly grated lemon zest .  The only trade-off is that you don’t get the cool looking lemons.

This was my first time using flour to coat chicken that I planned on sauteing. I must say, it ended up pretty good tasting and had some decent crunch to it.

Leave a Reply

