Bacon Pineapple Cheeseburgers

My first pineapple cheeseburger I ever tried was in the Philippines, at a small little fast food joint called Jolibee. I think it may have been the result of one of my late night cravings that I often get while in the Philippines. (my wife is always able to surpass her cravings with her chichi) If my memory serves me correctly, I fell in love with that burger. Sadly, Jolibee doesn’t offer the Pineapple cheeseburger anymore. So, I figured I would make a tribute to the burger here.

What you’ll need

1 lb of 85% ground beef

1 small can of pineapple slices

2 pieces of yellow american cheese

2 pieces of bacon

Mayonnaise

Hoisin Sauce

There is no Misenplace, let’s just dive into the recipe!

In a sautepan, heat a small amount of olive oil, and place your 1/4 inch formed patties into the hot oil.

Wrap a piece of bacon around one slice of pineapple and place then into a small saute pan to precook the bacon. I want to precook the bacon, because uncooked food scares the crap out of me.

When cooked they should look like this:

Cook the hamburgers for about 8 minutes on each side, flipping only one time, and never, ever pressing down on the hamburgers. Don’t ever press down on your hamburgers, I never understood the urge to do that.

Once the Bacon wrapped pineapple slices begin to brown, remove them from the pan and place them on a george forman grill (or other indoor grill) and cook until you have grill marks and a few crispy spots.

While the hamburgers are still hot, add the slices of cheese and allow to melt fully.

Using potato bread, spread the top half with mayonnaise and the bottom half with hoisin sauce.

to assemble the burgers, place the cheeseburger on the bottom half of the bun, place the bacon wrapped pineapple on top and place the top half of the bun on top, you know, like you normally would.

And..

Enjoy!!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. bwbears says:

    looks really nice!

  2. Omg, this looks good. I LOVE pineapple and my husband hates it. So I often don’t cook it in meals. He loves bacon though. Maybe I can get him to compromise ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Adding bacon always lightens a man’s heart!

Leave a Reply

