Egg in a Basket

This food is a comfort food for me, there is something about bread, toasted in butter, and filled with an egg that makes my insides all tingling like.

Many of you know this recipe as “egg in a basket” however, I know it is “Popeyes” I’m not really sure why, that’s just what mom called them, naturally, you go along with what she says when she’s making you delicious food.

As I got older, I still loved my Popeyes, however, I would drizzle them with olive oil, freshly cracked black pepper, and sea salts.

This also happens to be what V cooked for Evey as a snack in the movie V for Vendetta. Although I think V refers to them as Eggy in a Basket.

What you’ll need:

1 loaf of country-style bread (I’ve seen people do this with sliced, thin white bread, which is a travesty, use a loaf of bread and slice it thick)

Eggs

Pepper Mill

Butter

Sea salt

Olive oil

Our Mise En Place today:

Slice your bread into 1/2 inch slices using a serrated knife.

Once the bread is sliced, you need to make a hole in the center of the bread. I did this using a rounded teaspoon. You can use a small drinking glass to make the rounds, just be careful not to remove too much of the bread. Removing too much bread will result in your “baskets” being flimsy.

For the recipe:

Melt about 2 tablespoons of butter in saute pan that is oven safe. (that means no plastic materials that will melt when placed in the oven, causing noxious fumes in your home)

Place your baskets into the saute pan, and cook for about 3 minutes on low-medium temperature.

Once the bread begins to toast, crack an egg into each of the holes.

Allow to cook for about 3 more minutes.

Hopefully you listened to me, and used an oven proof pan, because we will be putting the popeyes into the oven to finish.

(Naturally i’m offering this advice, because I experience this problem myself, I had to transfer the Popeyes, from the non stick pan, to the oven safe pan, and ended up losing one of the popeyes to the floor. )

Drizzle olive oil over top the popeyes, then cook under the broiler for about 3 more minutes. Just until the egg whites are opaque, any longer and you risk losing the best part, the runny egg yolk.

Remove carefully from the pan, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle freshly cracked black pepper and sea salt. I used red Hawaiian sea salt here. (sorry for the crappy picture there, I didn’t notice that the pictures were coming out so poorly)

And..

There you have it, My version of “Egg in a basket” better known as a popeye.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I think they are so cute. What a fantastic and good looking breakfast idea.

    1. Thank you, not only are they cute, they taste great, and are extremely simple.

  2. 7theaven says:

    That looks like an Excellent breakfast!

Leave a Reply

