“A t-bone steak, cheese, eggs and Welch’s grape”

“A t-bone steak, cheese, eggs and Welch’s grape”

Notorious Big Aka Biggie Smalls (or Biggie) is a rapper from the 1990’s who made a huge impact of music in that era. Biggie was also murdered in the same era in which he rapped, turning him into a rap god and immortalizing him forever.

Big, rapped about rather unscrupulous things that I am truly not interested in, however he did have the occasional song that showed he had a warm side. Those songs have had more of an impact on me. Particularly “Sky’s The Limit”  “Juicy” and “Suicidal Tendencies”

After recently reading an article on Biggie that highlights Notorious Big’s lyrics about food, I was inspired to create a dish based on these lyrics:

“A T-bone Steak, Cheese, Eggs and Whelch’s Grape. “

I’m not going to give my interpretation of the lyrics, but rather take those lyrics, and try to make them into a creative dish.

This is what I came up with:

Broiled hangar steak, poached eggs with a red wine-grape reduction topped with shaved pecorino romano cheese.

The T-bone steak is represented by the hangar steak.

The eggs are poached eggs

The cheese is shaved pecorino romano cheese

The Whelch’s grape is a red wine-grape reduction sauce.

I’ve decided to make this into a series, where I will take a set of lyrics based on food and attempt to create a dish from the lyrics. However I don’t have a name for it, need to come up with something clever..

I’m thinking maybe “food for thought”

Some notes:

  • I had alot of fun with this, I while I was shopping, I visualized the ingredients on the plate.
  • Actually, I purchased a Portabello mushroom to use, but I forgot I had purchased it.
  • This made me realize that even though Hangar steak has the same marbling as Fillet Minion, it has the texture of flank steak.
  • This is just one man’s opinion of the lyrics and the artist.
  • This was my first time cooking poached eggs, I found it rather fun to swirl water and watch the eggs being cooked.
  • I HATE the way I “sauced” this plate. Ugh
4 thoughts on ““A t-bone steak, cheese, eggs and Welch’s grape”

  1. So i cant seem to find the full recipe . Granted I am pulling this from pintrest but now i am sitting here excited to make this but now my tbones will be plain and my company wont be as happy as i wait for a recipe and another day im blessed with fresh off the farm tbones and spcial company to wow with a unique dish 😦 so please get back to me soon with step by step recipe for this amazing sounding/looking dish

Leave a Reply

