Asian Inspired Meatballs

Did you know that some popular  inventions and recipes were either accidents or failures? Some examples of this include: Corn Flakes, Potato Chips, Fireworks, Play-doh, Bubblegum, Chocolate Chip Cookies and Penicillin. Okay, maybe none of these inventions are earth shattering..but still, where would we be without chocolate chip cookies!!?

Ahem, Back to where I was going with this, I attempted to make Lumpia today. Lumpia are Filipino egg rolls, usually filled mostly with meat, and deep fried. I used the word “attempted” because I was not successful at making Lumpia. I only had egg roll wrappers available to me, so I decided to use them. However, egg roll wrappers are not meant to be fried for long periods of time, so my lumpia were turning to charcoal and the pork mixture on the inside was remaining uncooked and raw. I attempted to lower the temperature, but I got the same result regardless of how much I lowered it.

I have a sneaking suspicion that vegetable oil isn’t the best for frying, and I won’t use it again. But, too little, too late, unfortunately.

So with my lumpia adventure coming to a swift and sad end, my mind quickly changed to “what the heck am I going to do with 2 pounds of pork?” Just to get my bearings, I decided to fry up a small amount of the pork mixture. Once I tasted it, I knew right away what I was going to do. Meatballs.

So to start:

Take 2 pounds of ground pork, mix in 2 beaten eggs, 1 teaspoon of powdered ginger, 3 tablespoons of low salt soy sauce, and 4 cloves of minced garlic.

Mix the meat until well combined.

Roll the meat mixture into 1 inch balls.

Fry the meatballs until golden brown on all sides, I had to do this in too batches as I didn’t want to overcrowd the pan. Once all of the meatballs are browned, place them onto a sheet pan, covered with aluminum foil.

Cook the meatballs on 375 for about 15 minutes, just until the internal temperature of the pork is beyond 150*.

When the meatballs reach the desired internal temperature, brush your homemade sweet chili sauce over them and cook for 5 minutes longer.

Serve with extra sweet chili sauce, and pass around at your next cocktail party.  Of course, you do not need a party to enjoy these, you could choose to make these, and watch several episodes of CSI Miami, like the writer of this blog has done.

Leave a Reply

