Adobo Glazed Chicken Wings

Chicken Wings and I used to go way, way back. Once upon a time, there was a little Anime series called Rorouni Kenshin. If you are not very familiar with it, i’ve included a video of the intro.

I used to purchase one DVD, once a month, usually on a Thursday. Along with that DVD, I used to purchase a dozen hot wings, and an order of cheesy bread from Domino’s pizza. Not the healthiest thing in the world, but man, do I have fond memories of watching the Battousai destroy people with a reverse blade katana

This is my attempt to re-create that experience, just updated with some of the new flavors in my life. Naturally, my wife being Filipino, and me being something of an adopted Pinoy myself, I chose to use the famous Filipino Adobo to flavor these wings.

To start, misenplace:

Mince two cloves of garlic and one red chile (bird’s eye, jalapeno, Tabasco are fine)

Coat about 18 wingettes (or wings) in flour (seasoned with salt and pepper) and set aside. Make sure to remove any excess flour from the chicken. An easy way to do that is to just bang two pieces of chicken together.

Heat your oil of choice in a large pan with high sides on medium-high.

For the recipe:

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a saucepan, add in the 2 cloves of minced garlic, 2 bay leaves and the minced chile, saute until the garlic and chile are softened and browned.

Add in 3 tablespoons of low salt soy sauce, 1/3 cup of vinegar, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, cracked black pepper and a pinch of kosher salt. Cook on low until the sauce becomes thick. Taste sauce for flavor and adjust if needed. I had to add a bit more brown sugar.

While the sauce is reducing down, start to fry your chicken wings. I did this 6 wings at a time to avoid overcrowding the pan. It took about 10 minutes for each batch of wings. I prefer my wings to be fried hard and have a nice crunch on them.

After each batch, drain the wings on a paper towel and move them to a stainless steel bowl.

No, that’s not an albino chicken wing, Apparently frying chicken is new to me, and I took me a batch to figure out that frying on a higher temperature equals better color.

Don’t allow the chicken to cool off too much, add your adobo glaze to the chicken in the stainless steel bowl and toss until coated.

Oh man, my mouth is just watering.. I did make homemade cheesy bread, but I used a crude, quick and easy recipe. I took some Pillsbury Pizza dough, slathered it in garlic butter, sprinkled shredded triple cheddar cheese, folded it over once, slathered more butter, more cheese and baked until bubbly and gooey. Serve together with plenty of Coke Zero and “watch a Movie” as my wife says very often.

Of course, you know I dusted off my Rorouni Kenshin DVDs. First time I’ve watched them in 3 or 4 years. The Anime is not exactly as cool as I remember, but that usually how it works.

Some notes:

  • I use wingettes, I feel that they have more potential than the huge drumsticks and wings.
  • The Copycat Cheesy bread will be posted at another time, I made it here, because I cannot eat wings without cheese bread.
  • The adobo glaze is very versatile, you can change much about it, as long as the ratio of vinegar to soy sauce remains 2:1.
  • This recipe was modified from the original at BurntLumpia.com
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum yum yum, any left for me?

  2. Sadly, I ate all of them, but I’m willing to make more for friends! 🙂

  3. sam says:

    What type of vinegar did u use

  4. I used white vinegar, but as in always in cooking, use what you like. there are no rules!

Leave a Reply

