Rum Balls

Rum Balls

It is was Christmas time, which usually for means for me a barrage of baking and preparing foods. However, this Christmas I was lucky enough to spend my Christmas in the Philippines. Most Filipinos receive money as a gift, so naturally the malls and stores are open on Christmas day. (Unlike in the US where you are lucky to find a small grocery store open Christmas day.) Of course, me and my wife witnessed this first hand, as we had to go to Mall of Asia on Christmas day to buy Qui, our (Lhasa Apso) some things. We quickly regretted doing so, as the place was elbow to elbow packed.

Anyway, sorry to ramble on, for the recipe:

Take vanilla wafers and crush them, you can use a food processor, but I just used my hands, it’s more fun! You should have about 3 cups of crushed wafers.

In a separate bowl, Sift 1 1/3 cup of powdered sugar and  tablespoons of Ghirardelli Cocoa.

Add the sifted ingredients to the crushed vanilla wafers, and stir until well combined.

The mixture should look similar to this. Don’t worry if it’s not finely crumbled, it’s not important.

Next, add 4 tablespoons of dark corn syrup (or dark karo syrup) and 1/2 of any dark rum of your choice. I actually chose to use a spiced run called “Sailor Jerry’s”

If this mixture is too wet add more powdered sugar, if it is too dry, add more rum.

You’re going to have to get your hands dirty here, I found that if I used my fingertips to pinch off a rollable size, I was able to roll it in my palms without too much hassle. Also, I actually rolled the entire batch into balls, before I rolled them into sugar. It just worked easier for me this way.

You can roll the balls into cocoa, or powdered sugar, but I prefer granulated sugar.

This is the hard part, you have to let the balls sit. You could eat them right away, but you’d be cheating yourself. They need to rest for at least 3 days, however a full week would be best. This gives them time to dry out, and for the alcohol to mellow from strong, to mild.

Leave a Reply

