Cheeseburger Pizza

Cheeseburger Pizza

Pizza, it’s one of my vices, even though I’m lactose intolerant, I still consume a large amount of pizza. Maybe because I’m a glutton for punishment, but I think the real reason is because pizza is the perfect food for any occasion. The sauces, the cheese and the toppings are just about unlimited.

The pizza I chose to make today is a cheeseburger (or burjer) pizza.

To start our recipe, misenplace:

Chop 1 small red onion, mince 1 clove of garlic, dried chile pepper and slice 2 stalks of green onion.

Preheat your oven to 400*

In a large saute pan, heat some olive oil until it ripples. Add the onions, chile and garlic and saute until the onion is translucent.

Next, add 1/2 pound (.25 kilo) of ground beef and Italian sausage and cook until browned, it should be about 10 minutes. Drain the oil off from mixture and set aside.

Now, grease a sheet pan with your grease of choice. (I used butter). Roll out your pizza dough to fit the sheet pan. (I used frozen Pillsbury dough) I didn’t quite feel like messing too much with homemade pizza dough. Besides, it’s okay to cheat while cooking every now and then.

Precook your pizza dough in a 400 degree oven for about 7 minutes, being careful not to overcook it.

As you can see, I ripped the dough, boo me.

Now, Use your favorite marinara sauce and spread it on the dough, leaving about a 1/2 inch space for the crust. Then, add the meat on top of the sauce, trying your best to get a single layer.

Add 8 ounces of grated mozzarella cheese, and on top of the mozzarella, add another 8 ounces of cheddar cheese. I actually tried to get some of the cheese on the crust, I love how it tastes.

You are going to bake this for about 17 minutes, watching carefully. If the crust burns, it will ruin the pizza. You can pull it out, as long as the cheese is melted. However, I put my pizza under the broiler for about a minute to brown the cheese properly.

Move the pizza from the pan to a wire rack to cool off. This was so hard for me to do, It’s like watching the clock while you are at work. After 10 minutes passed (which is not long enough to let the pizza rest) I cut it into 9 uniform pieces.

Enjoy with some Coke zero, and top with your favorite hot sauce.

Some notes:

  • If you didn’t know, most pizza places will sell you some pizza dough, Don’t be afraid to ask, it helps if you are a regular customer there.
  • You can substitute turkey for the meat here, I suspect it would be just as good.
  • Or you can choose to omit the meat altogether.
  • Just about everything here is interchangeable. Get creative.
Leave a Reply

