Chili-lime chicken soup

Chili-lime chicken soup

Autumn is my favorite season, I love the harvest, I love the warm colors in nature, I love the cold nights, and the amazing holidays. However, the beginning is always bittersweet for me. Autumn also puts my allergies into overdrive and punishes me with non-stop sneezing and congestion.

I try to combat those symptoms with spicy and sour soups. (chili-lime chicken soup, hot and sour soup, sinigang, tom yum goong, take a bow..) I really believe in the old tales about chicken soup being “Jewish Penicillin”, it just makes me feel better when I have a cold.

So, because i’m not feeling well,  we’re going to make chili-lime chicken soup.

For the misenplace:

Rub olive oil on 2 ears of corn, and grill/broil/stove top grill until they start to brown and sit them aside for later.

Place a whole chicken in enough water to cover, add an onion with the skin on, 2 carrots, herbs (I used thyme and parsley) a large handful of salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Cook this on an extremely low temperature for approximately 2 hours. Do not allow this to boil or simmer, it will ruin the clarity of your chicken stock. Remove the chicken and allow to cool. Shred the meat on the chicken and discard the carcass. Reserve the stock.

On to the recipe!

Dice 2 carrots, 1 red onion, slice 2 green onions, mince 3 cloves of garlic, mince 2 dried chills and grate 1 thumb sized piece of ginger root.

In a saute pan, heat 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Once the oil begins to ripple, add the red onion, garlic, ginger, chili, salt and freshly cracked black pepper and saute until the onions begin to turn translucent.

Once the onions are translucent, add the carrots and the green onions and cook until the carrots are soft. about another 7 minutes.

Remember the corn we roasted earlier and set aside? Sure you do, it was so much fun cooking them on the stove top. (wink wink) Were going to cut the kernels off of the cob. The easiest way to do this is to grab an ear of corn and stand it up. Using a sharp knife, start from the top and slice downward carefully. Also use a sheet pan to catch the kernels as they fall of off the cob. After you have cut all of the corn off, turn the knife around and using the dull side of the knife scrap the cob. The purpose of doing this is to extract the “milk” (it’s not really milk people, it’s just milky like).

Add the corn to the saute pan and saute until warmed through, adjust the seasonings and flavor.

Add the juice and zest of 3 limes to the saute pan, along with a handful of chopped cilantro. Now add the chicken stock we made earlier, adjust your seasonings and bring to a boil. Once the soup is boiling, reduce the heat and simmer for 20 minutes to allow the flavors to blend.

Serve with jasmine rice, top with green onions and dried peppers.

Some notes:

  • I had some trouble with the heat level, I wanted it spicy, but the dried chilis were mild. Maybe chipotle peppers would be a better fit here.
  • I know 3 limes seems like alot, but I was leaning towards adding a 4th.
  • Cook the rice separately from the soup, and only add rice when you serve. Adding the rice to the soup will soak up all of the liquid.
  • If you don’t feel like making your own stock, you can buy a rotisserie chicken, and buy chicken stock.
  • This is my first post, using my new Canon Rebel XSI, there is a learning curve with using a DSLR, but I think I did well.
  • This recipe is MINE, MINE, MINE. Copywrite ME.
Leave a Reply

