Strawberry French Toast

Strawberry French Toast

Usually, French toast is made by creating an egg/milk batter and you would take pieces of bread, dip them into the egg/milk mixture and saute them. There is nothing really wrong with this method, I’ve made it several times this year alone. But, me being me, I decided to add a bit of a twist to the original. Okay, maybe it’s a huge twist. Maybe you won’t like the idea. I can hear the thoughts forming in your head now “get the torches and pitchforks, Jason’s gone crazy!”  Just hear me out..

For our misenplace today:

Please cube 1 loaf of white bread and 1/2 of italian bread.

Next, rinse, trim and quarter 4 cups of strawberries.

Preheat your even to 350* and grease a 9X13 pan.

For the recipe, place the cubed white bread into the greased pan. Add the strawberries on top of the white bread. Make sure to distribute the strawberries evenly.

Next, evenly distribute the Italian bread on top of the strawberries.

Now, mix together 7 eggs, 3 cups of milk, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 vanilla extract, 1/8 nutmeg until thoroughly combined. Pour this mixture over the bread and strawberries.

If you want, at this point you could wrap this up and refrigerate overnight. But, what’s the fun of that?

Melt 1/2 cup of butter and mix 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 tablespoons of corn syrup into the melted butter. Once combined, pour over the bread and strawberries.

Place the strawberry goodness into the oven and bake for approximately 50 minutes.

Now you must occupy yourself for 60 minutes. I watched True Grit (1969 version) on AMC, I was very entertained, until I smelled a strangely sweet smell wafting from my kitchen. Just as I noticed the smell, the timer went off! I removed the pan from the oven and placed it on a wire rack to cool.

Naturally, I couldn’t wait till the French toast to cool off completely, so I served myself a large portion. I was happy with it, but it needed something..more.

Remembering that I had some strawberries left, I quickly rinsed and trimmed them. I threw them into a saucepan, with 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 of water and boiled it until it became a thick sauce.

I served me another portion, now that it has cooled off and drizzled the strawberry sauce on top of the French toast. I also fried up some rashers of brown sugar bacon as a side.

Aha!, That’s the extra..something I was looking for. No, not the bacon, the Strawberry sauce! Although, the bacon helped too. hehe

  • This recipe was adapted from http://www.food.com/recipe/white-lace-inn-baked-cherry-french-toast-44128.
  • I used Almond extract, I though it was a good substitute.
  • I had whipped cream, ready to be used, but for some odd reason decided against it.
  • I like the Photography here, very happy with the results.
  • I used Italian bread in place of French bread. I couldn’t even begin to find it around my area.
One thought on “Strawberry French Toast

Leave a Reply

