Crockpot Pulled Pork with Apricots.. and a dessert.

I must make a confession, before today, I’ve tried to “pull” pork several times, and never succeed, usually due to me baking the pork. I decided I was going to use the crock pot, and cook the living hell out of the pork. I thought of the ingredients, on a whim. If you look for pork recipes, most include some sort of disgusting apricot glaze. I thought, why not use dried apricots? They will most certainly breakdown and become an amazing sauce. Right?

So today, I woke up early (think break of dawn-ish), and surreptitiously assembled the ingredients needed for this recipe. ( I needed to use my ninja like quietness, as to not wake other people)

I added 28 ounces of chicken broth, 1 tablespoon of ketchup, 4 ounces of chopped, dried apricots, 1 sprig of rosemary, large pinches of kosher salt, and freshly ground black pepper in a crock pot. I placed a 2.5 pound (1 kilo) pork loin in with the liquid. I cooked this concoction for many hours. I even went back to sleep, no doubt I had roast pork and apricots dancing in my head. I watched Operation Dumbo Drop on the Hallmark channel. Please don’t judge me, it was early, and there wasn’t anything gory on.

After another nap, I woke up suddenly and immediately smelled the pork cooking, through a closed-door, and down a long hallway. I was overjoyed with optimism as I ran down the hallway to check on the roast. What I saw, was exactly what I was hoping for, the meat was falling apart, the sauce was a beautiful amber color and the apricots were dissolved, mostly.

I moved the pork to a plate to cool off a little bit while I attended to the sauce. It needed to be strained you see. It had some imperfections! I know, I know. I have OCD with things like this. I wanted it to be pristine, plus I had to adjust the seasonings and flavor. After straining the sauce through a sieve.

I added more kosher salt and pepper to taste (read: salty) along with adding more rosemary. I tasted it.. Dang, too sour! After looking around the kitchen, I spot with my big blue eyes some honey! Score! I added a splash or two and tasted the sauce again. Ahh, perfect I proclaim!

Next I grab two forks and take my frustrations out on some pork. It didn’t put up much of a fight, sadly. The pork shredded easily, thanks to the crock pot, and the 7 hours of cooking.

I brought the sauce up to a simmer and added the pulled pork to it.

At this point, you have some options here. You could use the pulled pork for just about any application. You can use them in tacos or nachos. You can serve it as pulled pork sandwiches, with plenty of coleslaw. Or.. Or you could do what I chose to do. Make mashed potatoes with roasted garlic and rosemary, and pile the pork high on top of the mashed potatoes.

Here is that dessert I promised. Sorry, no recipe quite yet, I’m still working on it.

Cherry Cheesecake Brownies Ala Mode. 🙂

  • I used rosemary in every aspect of this post. I think it’s an under used herb.
  • I know the ketchup seems weird, but it helps the flavor and color.
  • This recipe is mine, thought up solely by me, and is copyright of this blog and I. 🙂
  • I think any other dried fruit would work, I would suggest prunes or dates as substitutes.
  • I almost added white wine and white vinegar, I am very happy I did not.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

