Mush Molly!

The recipe actually has several different names, sometimes going by the name of “Johnny Marzetti” or “American Chop Suey”. Most of you will know it by the simple name of “Mac and Beef” or “Beefaroni”.For reasons unknown to me, my family has always called this “Mush Molly”.

The main recipe is always the same. Usually consisting of macaroni, beef, tomatoes or tomato sauce, onions and green peppers.

Also, this recipe is nothing but pure comfort food, it’s not spectacular, it’s a bit rough around the edges, it’s fast, and easy, but it tastes good! Trust me

For our Misenplace…

Let’s chop up our red onion and green pepper, trying to keep both in the same size range. Also mince up 2 cloves of garlic.

Open a small can of mushrooms and dice them up, they should resemble minced garlic.

To start: add about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and butter to a large saute pan. Saute onions, garlic, and peppers until they start to become soft, maybe 15 minutes.

Colorful, isn't it?

Add ground beef and italian sausage (casings removed) and mushrooms. While the meat is cooking, break it up the best you can using a wooden spoon. Also now is a good time to check your seasonings, add salt and pepper if you need it, and add any herbs you wish to incorporate into the recipe.

I love the way this smells when it is cooking.

When meat has browned thoroughly, and the vegetables are soft, you can drain the meat, If you wish. I choose not to do so this time, as I felt like most of the flavorful juices would be wasted. Next, add some tomato sauce, you can use your own sauce or a jarred sauce.

♪I've been waiting, for a sauce like you♪

I know, it’s hard to concentrate with such beauty bubbling away on the stove. But you must allow this to simmer for at least 10 minutes, to allow everything to come together.

After 10 minutes has passed, take whatever pasta you decided to use and add the sauce to the pasta (I almost always use elbow macaroni). Making sure that the pasta is drenched liberally in sauce and meat.

Serve your Molly, in a bowl, with about half a kilo (or 1 pound) of Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top.

pure.comfort.food.
  • If you choose to use a jarred sauce, please use a good quality brand, I recommend Classico brand.
  • If you are unsure what pasta to use, just pick your favorite. Or you could do what the kids on Lemony Snicket did, and use a mix of pastas they found in their pantry.
  • You could add carrots and celery, again, this is a comfort food, add or take away what you like and don’t like.
  • I don’t normally add sausage to this, but I really liked the flavor boost that the sausage provided.
  • I have a herb blend called “Tuscana” that my wife Lily bought for me, I’ve been using that in place of my normal herbs.
Leave a Reply

