Braised Chicken Thighs

Braised Chicken Thighs

I really need more bowls! hahaha

This recipe is completely off the top of my head, I was in the supermarket, purchasing ingredients for tomorrow’s dinner. When I realized I had nothing to eat for tonight! As i was picking up ingredients I seen that yellow squash and zucchini were not only on sale, but they were from local farmers! I after picking them up, I began to construct this recipe.

I roughly chopped up green peppers, red onions, zucchini, yellow squash and a tin of canned tomatoes.

I love the colors of these vegetables.

I also minced 3 cloves of garlic. I added the vegetables and garlic to a glass baking dish.

Then I took some boneless, skinless chicken thighs and gave them a large dice. I added the chicken thighs, olive oil, 2 tablespoons of cold butter to the glass baking dish.  I added sea salt, cracked black pepper, dried chile pepper, thyme, sage, basil and mixed everything until combined.

This is before the heat..

I baked this for about an hour in a 400* oven, making sure to stir it about every 20 minutes. The house smelled so good while this was cooking.

I love how the vegetables still maintain some of their color.

I served it with plenty of jasmine rice to soak up the drippings.

  • You can use whatever herbs you desire, I just happen to love sage and thyme.
  • Also, you can use fresh tomatoes instead of canned, it’s just nicer looking to me, because they are peeled.
  • The chicken was extremely tender, I was worried it was going to be a bit rubbery.
  • This could be made on the stove top, just on a low temperature and covered.
  • I wasn’t too liberal with the salt, I found that I had to and more at the end.
2 thoughts on “Braised Chicken Thighs

Leave a Reply

