“Old Ladies on a Bus” Chicken

“Old Ladies on a Bus” Chicken

So, I’ve had this recipe in my sights for a long time, but i usually pass over it, for something a little less.. obscure?

I’m not sure if I wanna believe the story that someone over heard two little old women, sharing recipes on the bus. It’s a great story but it’s hard to believe things that you read on the internet. There’s never any proof to back it up.

Anyway..here’s the chicken. Sorry I didn’t take any “in the process” photos, I’ll try to be better at that.

\

The recipe is from Food.com.

  • 2 lbs Chicken pieces (I used Thighs and Drumsticks)
  • 1/3 cup Orange Marmalade
  • 1/3 cup Barbecue Sauce
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 tablespoons Lemon Juice
  1. Arrange chicken on a foil-lined 13x9x2-inch baking pan; set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, combine marmalade, barbecue sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and lemon juice.
  3. Pour over chicken.
  4. Bake, uncovered, in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes, spooning sauce over chicken every 15 minutes.
  5. If sauce becomes fatty, skim the top of the sauce.
  6. Increase oven temperature to 400 degrees.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes more or until chicken is tender and no longer pink.
  • The sauce is pretty orange oriented, if you don’t like fruit/chicken combinations, you will not enjoy this recipe.
  • I think Pineapple Preserves would be a suitable substitute for the orange marmalade.
  • The sauce will go nicely over rice or pasta if you choose to prepare them.
  • I am addicted to Sweet Baby Ray’s barbecue sauce, so that’s the brand I used, I picked the sweet and spicy version. 🙂
  • I increased the amount of sauce by tripling the recipe, I had more chicken than what the recipe called for, and I like Sauuuce.
Leave a Reply

